Tag Archives: Premiers Award

The Meadows Receives Premier’s Award for Excellence in the Public Service

Deputy Premier Don Morgan on behalf of Premier Brad Wall announced the four teams and two individuals who will receive the 2016 Premier’s Award for Excellence in the Public Service for their outstanding work this evening.

“It is a great privilege to acknowledge the 2016 award recipients,” Morgan said.  “Our province is fortunate to have such dedicated, innovative and compassionate public servants working hard for the citizens of Saskatchewan.”The Premier’s Award for Excellence in the Public Service recognizes employees of the Saskatchewan public service for exceptional work in the categories of Innovation, Quality Service and Leadership.
The 2016 individual and team recipients are:
  • Krystal Aulie, Outstanding Agriculture Advocacy, Ministry of Agriculture (Leadership);
  • Sameema Haque, Saskatchewan Asbestos Registry, Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety (Quality Service);
  • 2015 Wildfire Season Team, Ministry of Environment (Quality Service);
  • Self-Directed Funding Joint Committee Team, Ministry of Social Services (Innovation);
  • Inter-Ministry Response Team to La Loche, Ministry of Education (Quality Service); and
  • Swift Current Long-Term Care Centre Project Team, SaskBuilds (Innovation).

Generally, individuals or teams from provincial government ministries, some Treasury Board Crown corporations, boards, commissions and agencies are eligible for nomination by the public service, stakeholder organizations, clients and citizens.  An independent committee makes the selections.

A ceremony will be held in the new year to recognize the broader Inter-Ministry Response Team to LaLoche.  The team is made up of approximately 350 people from across Saskatchewan, including non-public servants, who will receive honourable mentions.

The Meadows Award:

The Swift Current long term care centre, known as The Meadows, was finished on-time and on budget in April 2016. The province’s first public private partnership (P3), it brought together SaskBuilds, the Ministry of Health, and the Cypress Health Region with the private sector in a collaborative process. A participatory design process used feedback from residents, families, and staff to create a home-like atmosphere and innovations to improve care. Taxpayers also saved $16 million dollars as a result of the P3 procurement due to lower construction and maintenance costs, the integration of project life cycle phases, and the effective transfer and management of risks. It was both a test and validation of the P3 model in Saskatchewan as it concerns the procurement of large and complex capital assets.

Team Lead:

  • Rupen Pandya, President and CEO, SaskBuilds

SaskBuilds Team Members:

  • Lisa Boire, Executive Vice-President, Operations (former)
  • Miranda Brown, Senior Project Consultant
  • Teresa Florizone, Vice-President, Corporate Services and CFO
  • Sarah Harrison, Vice-President, Operations and Engagement
  • Rick Hischebett, Crown Counsel (former)
  • Sharon Lejeune, Administrative Assistant
  • Jenna Mouck, Project Director (former)
  • Penelope Popp, Project Director (former)
  • Reagan Reese Seidler, Director, Strategy and Engagement
  • Michelle Sieffert, Executive Assistant
  • Donna-Joy Tuplin, Executive Director, Finance (former)
  • Jill Zimmer, Project Director

Ministry of Health Team Members:

  • Cindy Fedak, Director, Operations and Internal Audit
  • Julianne Jack, Director, Regional Services, Communications Branch
  • Allan MacArthur, Health Facility Planner (former)
  • Linda Restau, Director, Continuing Care and Rehabilitation
  • Lorri Thacyk, Director, Regional Services (former)
  • Brad Williams, Director, Capital Asset Planning

Honourable Mention:

  • Michelle Aldag, Manager, Cypress Health Region
  • Larry Allsen, CFO and Vice-President, Corporate Services, Cypress Health Region
  • Dwight Booth, Director, Cypress Health Region
  • Brad Boutilier, Corporate Relations Coordinator, Cypress Health Region
  • Carol Hildebrand, Director, Support Services and Projects, Cypress Health Region
  • Renee Hovdestad, Health Services Manager, Cypress Health Region
  • Tyler Kannenberg, Director, Human Resources, Cypress Health Region
  • Chanda Legare, Administrative Assistant, Cypress Health Region
  • Rick Lowe, Regional Manager, Cypress Health Region
  • Brian Manning, President and CEO, SaskBuilds (former)
  • Bryce Martin, Vice-President Communications and Stakeholder Relations, Cypress Health Region
  • Colleen Minken, Executive Assistant, Cypress Health Region
  • Baron Rackow, Support Services Manager, Cypress Health Region
  • Ken Rudd, Director, Capital and Projects, Cypress Health Region
  • Anita Sagadahl, Director, Acute Care and Long-Term Care, Cypress Health Region
  • Brenda Schwan, Vice-President, Continuing Care, Cypress Health Region
  • Beth Vachon, CEO, Cypress Health Region

For more information on the Premier’s Award for Excellence in the Public Service, visit www.saskatchewan.ca/honoursawards.